Download PDF version >>

(OJAI, CA, May 24, 2016) – David J. Nygren, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Ojai Music Festival, is pleased to welcome Jerrold L. Eberhardt and David W. Oxtoby to its Board of Directors. As the Ojai Music Festival marks its 70th anniversary with the upcoming Festival (June 9-12), Mr. Oxtoby and Mr. Eberhardt begin their tenures as the organization looks toward the future and begins a strategic planning process.

“On behalf of my Board colleagues and the entire Festival family, I am absolutely thrilled to welcome Jerry and David,” said Nygren. “I am deeply appreciative and humbled by the extraordinary talents, generous support, and unwavering commitment of our Board, and I extend the warmest welcome to our newest Board members. I am honored to serve the Festival at this milestone moment and to work with my esteemed friends on the Board, with our artistic heart and visionary Tom Morris and President Jamie Bennett as we look toward the Festival’s future.”

Jerrold L. Eberhardt, Vice Chairman of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, had a distinguished 40-year career at Smith Barney. He and his family moved from Chicago to Los Angeles in 1997 when he was named Senior Executive Vice President and Divisional Director for the Western Division, which included eleven States and was expanded to include Asia and Australia. He retired in 2009. Eberhardt has been a member of the Board of Directors of Dynasty Financial Partners, LLC since 2012. Dynasty is the premier provider of integrated wealth management solutions and technology for Independent Registered Investment Advisors.

Eberhardt is a member of the Music Leadership Council and serves on the Board of the Music Center Foundation. For the past six years Jerry has served as a Trustee of the Aspen Music Festival & School. He is also a member of The California Club and previously served on the Board of Directors and as the Chairman of the Finance Committee.

He graduated from the University of Illinois and received his MBA from the University of Cincinnati.

David W. Oxtoby, President of Pomona College, is a leading expert on higher education and a strong advocate for the liberal arts. Speaking across the globe, he makes the coxtoby-1_1024ase that the pressing challenges of the 21st century will be addressed by those whose minds have been developed to think creatively in ways that cut across disciplines.

An internationally-recognized physical chemist, Oxtoby as President has advanced Pomona as a champion of sustainability. The Pomona College has committed to reaching net carbon neutrality by 2030, and has completed five new academic buildings and two new residence halls designed to meet or exceed LEED Silver. The importance of the arts is a key theme of Oxtoby’s leadership, with the recent opening of the new Studio Art Hall, revitalization of the Pomona College Museum of Art, and the establishment of faculty positions in creative writing, theatre, and dance.

He received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry summa cum laude from Harvard University and his Ph.D. from UC Berkeley. He has authored more than 170 scientific papers, and has served as chair of Harvard University’s Board of Overseers and the Association of American Colleges and Universities. In 2012, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Since David Nygren’s tenure as Chairman of the Festival Board of Directors began in 2013, the Board of Directors has grown recently with the additions of Barry Sanders, lawyer, and Fred Fisher, architect. Other additional new board members are: Sandy Buechley, business intelligence manager at Patagonia, Inc. (Ojai); James P. Drummy, principal at the law firm of Poindexter & Doutré Inc. (Los Angeles); Carol Nygren, principal at the Nygren Group (Valencia); Dr. Bridget Tsao-Brockman, optometrist (Ojai); and Gary Wasserman, CEO of Allied Metals Corporation (Detroit, MI). Board members who continue their dedicated service to the Festival include: Sue Bienkowski, program director (retired) of St. Jude Medical Center (Santa Monica); NancyBell Coe, president (retired) of Music Academy of the West (Santa Barbara); Michael Gorfaine, partner and co-owner, Gorfaine/Schwartz Agency (Los Angeles); Russ Irwin, toxicologist (retired) at Bayer Group (Berkeley); Cathryn Krause, co-founder (retired) of BST Solutions (Ojai); Dr. Barry Schifrin, doctor (retired) (Los Angeles); Greg Smith, Land Management, Smith-Hobson LLC (Ventura); and Jane Weirick, teacher (retired) (Ojai), as well as President of the Ojai Festivals Women’s Committee Merrill Williams, director of public relations of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa (retired) (Ojai).

2016 Festival Tickets
Single tickets are available for the 2016 Festival and may be purchased online at OjaiFestival.org or by calling (805) 646-2053. Tickets range from $40 to $150 for reserved seating and lawn tickets are $15. Reservations for the free family concert can be done online at OjaiFestival.org.

Ojai Music Festival
From its founding in 1947, the Ojai Music Festival has created a place for groundbreaking musical experiences, bringing together innovative artists and curious audiences in an intimate, idyllic setting 80 miles northwest of Los Angeles. The Festival presents broad-ranging programs in unusual ways with an eclectic mix of rarely performed music, refreshing juxtapositions of musical styles, and works by today’s composers. The four-day festival is a complete, immersive experience with concerts, free community events, symposia, film screenings, and social gatherings. Considered a highlight of the summer season, Ojai has remained a leader in the classical music landscape. Through its unique structure of the Artistic Director appointing an annual Music Director, Ojai has presented a “who’s who” of music including: Aaron Copland, Igor Stravinsky, Olivier Messiaen, Michael Tilson Thomas, Kent Nagano, Pierre Boulez, John Adams, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Robert Spano, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, David Robertson, eighth blackbird, George Benjamin, Dawn Upshaw, Leif Ove Andsnes, Mark Morris, Jeremy Denk and Steven Schick.
The Ojai Music Festival marks its 70th year, June 9-12, 2016, and to curate this milestone, Artistic Director Thomas W. Morris has invited acclaimed opera and theater director Peter Sellars to serve as Music Director. Highlights will include award-winning Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho’s new chamber version of La Passion de Simone, a meditation on the life of the courageous French philosopher Simone Weil; the world premiere of a personal musical portrait of American-born French dancer, singer, and actress Josephine Baker; and the Ojai debut of Egyptian singer Dina El Wedidi, who epitomizes a rising generation of Egyptian women. Joining Sellars in Ojai will be ICE (International Chamber Ensemble), the Calder Quartet, Roomful of Teeth, and soprano Julia Bullock. For further details and a full schedule, visit OjaiFestival.org.